Zealous Criminal Defense Representation

  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Reckless Driving
  4.  » Fighting a high-speed reckless driving charge

Fighting a high-speed reckless driving charge

On Behalf of | Apr 28, 2024 | Reckless Driving |

Drivers in Virginia are at risk of charges for reckless driving at certain speeds. A reckless driving charge can be nerve-wracking because of the consequences that can come with a conviction. If you’re facing reckless driving charges related to speeding, it’s important that you’re aware of the potential consequences and that you know your rights when fighting the charge in court.  

Reckless driving due to speeding 

Most drivers are aware of the potential dangers of speeding, but sometimes you may be distracted or simply unaware of the speed limit in an area you’re unfamiliar with. In Virginia, you can face charges for reckless driving if you’re driving 20 miles per hour or more above the posted speed limit. You can also face reckless driving charges if you’re driving over 85, regardless of the speed limit.  

In areas where there is no posted speed limit, you’re to assume the speed limit is 25 miles per hour near schools and in residential and business areas. For unpaved roads, assume the speed limit is 35 miles per hour, and for all other roads, assume the speed limit is 55 miles per hour. By remembering these general speed limits, you may avoid an officer pulling you over for speeding.  

Consequences of reckless driving 

Speeding is a contributing factor in many accidents, and it can lead to serious injuries for everyone involved. However, a conviction for reckless driving due to driving at an excessive speed can have severe legal consequences. You could potentially lose your driving privileges, and the court may require you to pay a fine. If you get points on your license, your insurance rates could go up significantly. In some cases, you may face jail time.  

If you’re caught speeding and facing reckless driving charges, you do have options. The consequences associated with your charges are dependent on many factors. If this is a first-time offense, a judge may give you more leniency and allow you to plea for a reduced charge. If you’ve had previous reckless driving charges, you should be prepared to fight back against the charges in court.  

Legal help when charged with reckless driving 

A reckless driving charge does not necessarily mean that you will face conviction for that charge. It’s important to know your options and work with someone familiar with Virginia’s laws. You may have the option to have your charge reduced to one with fewer legal consequences. Most importantly, know that it is your right to defend yourself against the charges so that you can potentially reduce the negative impact a reckless driving charge has on your life.